Home Page (All Projects) in myBalsamiq

Your home page is where Staff Members create and navigate to all the projects your team is working on.

Projects are like folders to keep all of your wireframes together based on whatever organization makes sense to you. For example, you could create a single project for a web site design you’re working on, or you could create multiple projects for the web site design to keep parts of your design separate. How you organize is up to you.

Keep reading to get an idea of what Staff Members can do on the home page, or watch the Projects section of the intro video on YouTube.


Anatomy of the Home Page #

The screenshot below shows all the parts and functions on your site home page.



View image full size in a new window →

The home page is your main entry point for navigating projects. Whenever you want to return to this page, click the Home link in your breadcrumbs in the gray bar at the top left of the screen, or click your site name or logo in the upper left corner.

If you are not logged in, you will only be able to view public projects, that is, those that have access set to: Website (view project content), Blog (view project content, add comments), or Wiki (view project content, add comments, add mockups).

If you have no public projects and you’re not logged in, you’ll be redirected to the login page.

You can always sign in using the “Log in” link in the upper right corner of the screen.


Creating Projects #

One of the first things you’ll do in your site is create projects to organize your mockups.

Creating projects is simple. Click one of the these two options: the book icon that reads “New Project” in the body of the page, or the little plus icon that reads “New Project” in the upper right of the screen.

New Project Menus #

1. New Project Icon
The last book in the main area of the page is a New Project button—the big plus icon will help you spot it. You can click this to create a new project.

2. New Project Link
In the top right, below the global navigation bar is a New Project Link. You can click this to create a new project.

New Project Dialog #

Clicking on either of the New Project links will open up the new project dialog you see below.

1. Project Name
Enter a project name. You can always change it later. We tend to create a naming system, e.g. [Project Name]: [Project Sub Title], or you could use [Client Name]: [Project]. Projects are sorted alphabetically, so a nomenclature can be helpful.

2. Mailing List Address
The project name is used to create a mailing list address, which is an email alias used to notify your team of changes on the project. Project Members can also use this address to email their team from the Project Members menu.

3. Project Description
Optionally enter a project description. This can be changed later.

4. Book Cover Style
Select a book cover style so that you can easily pick out projects on the home view. We find that the different book cover styles and colors help us to organize our projects. You could even use the colors to categorize project, so you can spot them quickly.

See also the instructions for uploading an entire project from your desktop.


Renaming and Setting a Style #

On existing projects, you can easily rename and change the book cover style of a project by using the drop down menu in the bottom right.


Cloning a Project #

When you select “Clone…” to clone a project from the Project Menu on the home or using the Manage Project button on the project page, we create a copy of the project including all of its mockups.

Click the Project Menu icon in the bottom right corner of the project book and select Clone…

You will be asked to enter the name of the new project in a dialog, and afterward you’ll be redirected to the new project page.


Archiving a Project #

When you select “Archive” from the Project Menu or the using the Manage Project button on the project page, we will move the project to the site Archives.

Moving a project to the site archives removes it from the home view, and frees up a single project from your site’s project quota. All of your contents are saved, but you will not have access to the project or its contents unless you unarchive it.

The archives are accessible via the "Archives" link in the upper right of your home page.


Unarchiving a Project #

To unarchive a project, you must be a Staff member and have been a member of the project. While on the archives page, click the "Unarchive" link below the project title to move it to your active projects.

Note: If you've run out of projects in your Site's plan you will not be able to unarchive until you either free up space or upgrade your plan.


Deleting Project #

When you select Delete from the Project Menu or the using the Manage Project button on the project page, we will delete the project and all of its contents permanently. This is an unrecoverable action, so be sure you download your project, using the Manage Project > Download Project Menu if you want to save a local copy of it first.

We cannot recover any of your contents for you once a project is deleted. Once it’s gone, it’s gone. So be sure you download it first if you’ll want to refer to it later.


Site Assets #

The Assets link in the upper right of the home page opens the Site History manager dialog. Site Assets are images and any assets you want to share with all projects across your site.

To upload assets, click the Upload button in the dialog. You can upload up to 5 files at a time, each having a maximum file size of 1MB. Your computer’s upload dialog will let you select multiple files if all of your assets are in a single folder.

For more information, view the Assets documentation.


Site History #

The single line of text under All Projects near the top left of your home page shows the last update to your site. If you click the “View History…” link, you will be taken to the Site History page, which shows an activity stream of updates for your site.

The site history shows the following types of activity:

  • New Project Created
  • Project Archived
  • Project Unarchived
  • Project Deleted
  • New User Added
  • New Mockup Added
  • Mockup Updated
  • Mockup Deleted
  • New Comment Added to Mockup

You can learn more about the history feature, and view example history screens in the history section of the docs.

Last Updated: Jul 19, 2013 05:24PM PDT