Signing up for a Subscription
Before signing up for a subscription, you must first create and confirm your Balsamiq Cloud account.
The Space Owners or the Billing-Only Administrator can sign up for a plan in the Space Settings under the Billing Information section. This section can be reached by selecting “Settings” in the center navigation menu within your Space.
To sign up for a paid subscription, simply pick a plan and select the Subscribe button:
You can choose to be charged either monthly or yearly, then proceed to enter your credit card information in the secure sign-up form. Invoices will be sent via email to the Space Owner(s) and Billing-Only Administrator (if applicable). Review your information and click “Subscribe” to complete the process.
If you happen to subscribe to a plan before your initial 30-day trial is over, you will receive credit for the number of unused days in your trial. And as usual, you are free to cancel your subscription at any time.
Changing Your PlanNote: If you have a Billing-Only Administrator assigned, the Space Owner(s) will be required to re-enter the credit card on file to make plan changes. Otherwise, contact your Billing-Only Admin to make the change.
The Space Owners or the Billing-Only Administrator can change the plan at any time in the Space Settings under the Billing Information section. This section can be reached by selecting “Settings” in the center navigation menu within your Space.
Simply select the appropriate button next to the desired plan:
When changing plans, you’ll automatically receive credit for any time remaining on the old plan. If additional payment is due, your credit card will be charged. Any unused credit will be applied toward future renewals.
Your billing renewal date will remain the same if you are only changing the number of projects on your plan. We will simply adjust the charge for the current renewal period. Changes between monthly or annual payments will move the billing renewal date to the date the plan was changed, and your new subscription plan will start immediately.
Finding past Invoices
We send invoice notifications via email following your automatic credit card payment to the email address of the Space Owner(s). The email will also be sent to the Billing-Only Administrator if one is assigned.
A link to your downloadable invoice is included in this notification email. You can also view all past invoices directly under the Billing History section of your Space Settings.
If you need to share invoices with someone other than the Space Owners or Billing-Only Administrator, you can easily forward the email notifications. Although you must be logged in to Balsamiq Cloud to view your Billing Information, the link to your invoice can be viewed and downloaded by your finance team without logging in.
If the Space Owners or Billing-Only Administrator need to change their registered email address, this change must be done within the corresponding User Settings.
Updating Your Credit Card or Invoice InformationNote: If you have a Billing-Only Administrator assigned, the Space Owner(s) will be required to re-enter the credit card on file to make billing changes. Otherwise, contact your Billing-Only Admin to make the change.
To update your credit card or invoice information, the Space Owners or Billing-Only Administrator should log in to the Balsamiq Cloud Space, and go to Billing Information found in the Space Settings section - which can be reached by selecting “Settings” in the center navigation menu within your Space.
Here is an example of what you will see when you are on the Billing Information page of your Balsamiq Cloud Space:
Select “Update Credit Card” to update the credit card on file and billing address for future renewals. If you only wish to update the billing address on future invoices without changing the card, select “Update Address.”
To edit the address shown on a previous invoice, select the specific invoice in the Billing History. You’ll be able to edit and download a PDF of the transaction.
Stopping Your Subscription
The Space Owners or the Billing-Only Administrator can stop your subscription at any time in the Billing Information section, under Space Settings. This section can be reached by selecting “Settings” in the center navigation menu within your Space.
To stop the auto-renew of your subscription select “Cancel Subscription”. After canceling your subscription, your credit card will not be charged again, unless you restart your subscription and enter your credit card information again. Access to your Balsamiq Cloud Space will end at the conclusion of the current billing period.
Please review details of your options before canceling your subscription to make sure your team downloads any work they would like to keep.
Restarting Your Subscription
After your subscription ends, due to your trial ending, credit card renewal trouble, or because the time remaining on your canceled plan ended, your Space will be suspended for 30 days. During this time, your Space will be in read-only mode, which means the projects will still be viewable to Space Owners and staff members, but they will not be editable.
While the Space is in read-only mode, Space Owners will still be able to download projects, permanently delete the Space or restart the subscription. If a Billing-Only Administrator has been assigned, that person will also be able to login to restart the subscription. To do so, visit the Billing Information section within your Space, found under Space Settings.
If you choose not to restart the subscription, your Space data will be deleted permanently after 30 days.
If you need to temporarily walk away from your subscription, but do not wish to cancel outright, you have the option to allow your Space to auto-hibernate.
Auto-hibernation will automatically kick in for those paid subscriptions that meet the following criteria:
- They are on the $9/month plan
- The Space has remained empty for a full billing period (learn how to Manage Your Projects)
If these two requirements are met, our system will do its magic behind the scenes and will place your Space “IN HIBERNATION”. If you are not sure when your billing period begins and ends, just take a look at your invoices. You can find them in the Billing History section of your Space’s Settings, and the period is defined in each invoice.
After your Space enters auto-hibernation, it will remain active, along with any Staff Members or Space Owners you may have invited to join you. You will still receive invoices for subsequent billing periods, but they will total $0 due to the auto-hibernation credit.
Note that your Space will automatically exit auto-hibernation whenever you create or upload a project. You can then expect your renewal charges to resume.
If your Space is currently on a different plan, and you know you won’t be making use of it, you can always change your plan to the $9/month one. Remember, the Space must remain empty for a full billing period before you see a credit for auto-hibernation.